en | de
Search:

New Business Development: Innovation with the highest degree of novelty.

Today, New Business Development is one of the most important organizational competencies for both established companies and start-ups to generate a sustainable competitive advantage and to be successful on the market in the long term.

Type of innovation with the highest degree of novelty

While at least one area remains unchanged for the two types of innovation, market innovation or business model innovation, as well as classic product innovation and process innovation, and thus forms a "secure bank", everything is new for New Business Development: the product or service, the underlying processes, the business model, the market and the customers. In some cases, not even the brand remains. If, for example, the values of the brand simply do not fit the new market.

Definition: New Business Development

New Business Development is the most complex and risky way to generate new revenue. It should be possible to generate profits with a new product or service and a new business model in a hitherto unknown market.

A company has many opportunities to tap new sources of revenue. For example, it can generate new revenues through a business model innovation. A new product or service is offered in a new form to the market, which has already been ploughed. The car sharing subsidiaries of well-known car manufacturers are an example of this. A Swiss dairy farmer, for example, shows that this form of increasing turnover is also suitable for smaller farms. Instead of selling the milk, he rents out his cows, continues to look after them on his farm as before and offers the tenant the end product cheese at a preferential price.

In a market innovation, a company tries to transfer its own technologies to new fields of application in new markets. For example, Uber not only transports people, but also delivers food in many cities.

The method is suitable for companies with "play capital".

This way of generating new turnover is not open to all companies, of course. Companies that need new revenue relatively quickly are not advised to use this method. Rather, New Business Development is ideal for those companies that want to develop new business models from a position of strength, can and want to take money and resources in their hands and are aware of the relatively high risk of failure.

Tapping new target groups with New Business Development

Focus instead of openness for everything

New Business Development begins by making an initial selection of markets. Corporate values, guidelines and the company's DNA support this process. They serve as orientation and set the focus for the future.

Validate the problem before developing a solution

In order to develop innovative solutions that are as targeted as possible, a "validation of problems and needs" should be carried out in advance. For this purpose, consumers or LEAD Users from the selected clusters are asked what their specific problems and greatest needs are. On the basis of this detailed information, a sound decision can be made as to which of these problems and needs the company would like to address.

Co-creation of the solution with users

Especially in markets which the company does not yet know, the development of the solution together with customers - preferably LEAD Users - is an important element for successful innovations.

LEAD Roadmap

LEAD Roadmap is the map for your methodically secure path into the future. The innovation strategy for your projects, which anticipates the challenges of all foreseeable changes in technologies, social conditions and market trends. We bring the best experts, thought leaders, target market customers and developers from similar fields to the table with you and work out the roadmap to innovation success together.

read more

4 Steps through New Business Development

Define rough direction

First of all, the company needs to know where it is basically going. It can, for example, give three rough directions by selecting very generally three sectors such as safety, health or textiles. This limitation gives a first direction that an entrepreneur must have in his head.

Exploration of industries

In the next step, the given industries will be examined in detail and applied to as many fields and trends as possible. In the health sector, trends such as personalization, digitalization or 3D bio-printing are of great relevance, and possible fields of application range from care for the disabled and the elderly to operations, rehabilitation and specific illnesses.

Forming and evaluating market clusters

Subsequently, clusters are formed in which matching fields of application and relevant trends are summarized. One then has, for example, a cluster on care, skin health, pregnancy or animal health. After the clusters have been put together, it is checked which cluster best matches the company's DNA or has the best brand fit. In addition, meaningful key figures such as market growth, market size, key player or pricing must be collected for each cluster.

Selection of the best clusters

In a further step, the fit of the individual clusters is compared with the respective growth potential. In a visualization as a matrix, the brand fit could be entered on the x-axis and the market potential on the y-axis. On the basis of this information, the decision is then made, for example, for the top 3 markets - i.e. those with the best fit and the most promising market. Interviews are then conducted with experts from the industry to obtain further information on the selected market clusters.

The 4 Phases of New Business Development

In just 4 steps you can efficiently search for and develop new business areas and target groups.

Step 1: Understanding

After an overview of the challenges and trends in the market, customer segments and their problems are identified and then a well-founded selection is made.

Step 2 & Step 3: Generate ideas & develop

In this step you identify LEAD Users, i.e. progressive users, pioneers from the respective customer segment. Potential LEAD Users submit and collect initial ideas through the invitation to tender for an Innovation Challenge. After the evaluation of the invitation to tender, the suitable LEAD Users are selected through further discussions with the idea providers.

In phase 3, products with minimal functions, so-called "Minimal Viable Products", will be developed in a LEAD User Conference based on different creativity techniques and business models will be developed. The results are "pretotypes" that can be tested directly on the market in the next phase.

Step 4: Testing

The pretotypes are tested and evaluated with Real Market Tests. As with the further development of the Minimal Viable Products, feedback from potential customers is incorporated into the pretotypes until the product is accepted by the market. The result of the 4th phase is at least one pretotype tested positive on the market including Business Model and Vision.

Make an appointment for an informative conversation.

contact us now
New Business Development

New Business Development

With New Business Development you can build on an important organizational competence to generate sustainable competitive advantages and to be successful on the market in the long term.

New Business Development

With New Business Development you can build on an important organizational competence to generate sustainable competitive advantages and to be successful on the market in the long term.

New Business Development

With New Business Development you can build on an important organizational competence to generate sustainable competitive advantages and to be successful on the market in the long term.

Mocap smarthphone image
To the innovation check
Innovation Check

Would you like to know what stage of maturity your innovation management is at and analyze what the next steps could be?

Do the LEAD Innovation Check!

In the 30-minute innovation check, 7 subject areas of innovation management will be evaluated.

to the innovation check

de | en
Search:

New Business Development: Innovationen mit höchstem Neuigkeitsgrad.

New Business Development zählt heute für etablierte Unternehmen ebenso wie für Start-ups zu den wichtigsten organisationalen Kompetenzen, um einen nachhaltigen Wettbewerbsvorteil zu generieren und langfristig am Markt erfolgreich zu sein.

Innovationsart mit dem höchsten Neuigkeitsgrad

Während bei den beiden Innovationsarten Markt- oder einer Geschäftsmodellinnovation sowie auch der klassischen Produkt- und auch der Prozessinnovation zumindest ein Bereich unverändert bleibt und damit quasi eine "sichere Bank" bildet, ist beim New Business Development alles neu: Das Produkt oder Service, die dahinter liegenden Prozesse, das Geschäftsmodell und der Markt sowie die Kunden. In manchen Fällen bleibt nicht einmal die Marke bestehen. Wenn etwa die Werte der Brand einfach nicht zu dem neuen Markt passen.

Definition: New Business Development

New Business Development ist die komplexeste und risikoreichste Form, neuen Umsatz zu generieren. Denn dabei soll es gelingen, mit einem neuen Produkt oder Service und einem neuen Geschäftsmodell in einem bis dato unbekannten Markt Gewinne zu erwirtschaften.

Um neue Erlösquellen zu erschließen hat ein Unternehmen viele Möglichkeiten. So kann es etwa durch eine Geschäftsmodellinnovation neue Umsätze generieren. Dabei wird dem schon bisher beackerten Markt ein neues Produkt oder Service in einer neuen Form angeboten. Die Carsharing-Töchter bekannter Autohersteller sind dafür ein Beispiel. Dass sich diese Form der Umsatzsteigerung auch für kleinere Betriebe eignet, zeigt etwa ein Schweizer Milchbauer. Anstatt die Milch zu verkaufen, vermietet er seine Kühe, betreut sie auf seinem Hof weiter wie eh und je und bietet dem Mieter das Endprodukt Käse zu einem Vorzugspreis an.

Bei einer Marktinnovation versucht ein Unternehmen die eigenen Technologien auf neue Anwendungsfelder in neue Märkte zu transferieren. So lässt Uber beispielsweise nicht nur Personen befördern, sondern in vielen Städten auch Essen zustellen.

Die Methode eignet sich für Unternehmen mit "Spielkapital" 

Dieser Weg, neuen Umsatz zu generieren, steht freilich nicht allen Unternehmen offen. Betriebe, die relativ rasch neue Einkünfte brauchen, ist diese Methode nicht anzuraten. New Business Development ist vielmehr für jene Unternehmen ideal, die aus einer Position der Stärke neue Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln wollen, dafür Geld und Ressourcen in die Hand nehmen können und wollen und sich des relativ hohen Risikos des Scheiterns bewusst sind.

Mit New Business Development neue Zielgruppen erschließen

Fokus statt Offenheit für alles

New Business Development beginnt damit, eine erste Auswahl von Märkten zu treffen. Unternehmenswerte, Leitlinien und die DNA des Unternehmens unterstützen diesen Prozess. Sie dienen als Orientierung und geben den Fokus für die Zukunft vor.

Vor der Lösungsentwicklung das Problem validieren

Um möglichst zielgerichtet innovative Lösungen zu entwickeln, sollte im Vorfeld eine "Validation of problems and needs" erfolgen. Dazu werden Konsumenten oder LEAD User aus den gewählten Clustern befragt, was konkret ihre Probleme und ihre größten Bedürfnisse sind. Auf Basis dieser Detailinformationen kann eine fundierte Entscheidung getroffen werden, welche dieser Probleme und Bedürfnisse das Unternehmen adressieren möchte.

Co-Creation der Lösung mit Usern

Gerade in Märkten, die das Unternehmen noch nicht kennt, ist die Entwicklung der Lösung gemeinsam mit Kunden - am besten LEAD Usern - ein wichtiges Element für erfolgreiche Innovationen.

LEAD Roadmap

LEAD Roadmap ist die Landkarte für Ihren methodisch gesicherten Weg in die Zukunft. Die Innovationsstrategie für Ihre Projekte, die den Herausforderungen aller absehbaren Veränderungen von Technologien, gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen und Markttrends vorausblickend begegnen. Wir bringen die besten Experten, Vordenker, Zielmarktkunden und Entwickler aus analogen Bereichen mit Ihnen an einen Tisch und erarbeiten gemeinsam die Roadmap zum Innovationserfolg.

weiterlesen

4 Schritte durch das New Business Development

Grobe Richtung festlegen

Das Unternehmen muss zunächst einmal wissen, wo es grundsätzlich hingehen soll. Es kann beispielsweise drei grobe Richtungen vorgeben, indem es sehr allgemein drei Branchen wie z.B. Sicherheit, Gesundheit oder Textil auswählt. Diese Eingrenzung gibt eine erste Richtung vor, die man als Unternehmer im Kopf haben muss.

Erforschung der Branchen

In einem nächsten Schritt werden die vorgegebenen Branchen eingehend untersucht und in möglichst viele Anwendungsfelder und Trends Im Gesundheitsbereich sind z.B. Trends wie Personalisierung, Digitalisierung oder 3D-Bioprinting von hoher Relevanz, mögliche Anwendungsfelder reichen von der Behinderten- und Altenpflege über Operationen und Rehabilitation bis hin zu spezifischen Erkrankungen.

Marktcluster bilden und bewerten

Im Anschluss daran werden Cluster gebildet, in denen zueinander passende Anwendungsfelder und relevante Trends zusammengefasst werden. Man hat dann z.B. einen Cluster Pflege, Hautgesundheit, Schwangerschaft oder Tiergesundheit. Nach Zusammenstellung der Cluster wird überprüft, welcher dieser Cluster am besten zur DNA des Unternehmens passt oder den größten Brand Fit hat. Zusätzlich müssen für jeden Cluster aussagekräftige Kennzahlen wie z. B. Marktwachstum, Marktgröße, Key Player oder auch Pricing erhoben werden.

Auswahl der besten Cluster

Der Fit der einzelnen Cluster wird in einem weiteren Schritt mit dem jeweiligen Wachstumspotential verglichen. In einer Visualisierung als Matrix könnte man etwa auf der x-Achse den Brand Fit eintragen und auf der y-Achse das Marktpotential. Auf Basis dieser Informationen entscheidet man sich dann für z.B. die Top 3 Märkte – also jene mit dem besten Fit und dem vielversprechendsten Markt. Anschließend werden Interviews mit Experten aus der Branche geführt, um weitere Informationen zu den gewählten Marktclustern zu erhalten.

Die 4 Phasen von New Business Development

In nur 4 Schritten gestalten Sie die Suche und Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsbereiche und Zielgruppen effizient.

Schritt 1: Verstehen

Nach einem Überblick zu den Herausforderungen und Trends am Markt werden Customer Segmente und deren Probleme identifiziert und im Anschluss eine fundierte Auswahl getroffen.

Schritt 2 & Schritt 3: Ideen generieren & Entwickeln

In diesem Schritt identifizieren Sie LEAD User, also fortschrittliche Anwender, Pioniere aus dem jeweiligen Customer Segment. Durch die Ausschreibung einer Innovation Challenge werden durch potentielle LEAD User erste Ideen eingereicht und gesammelt. Nach der Auswertung der Ausschreibung werden durch weiterführende Gespräche mit den Ideengeber die geeigneten LEAD User ausgewählt.

In Phase 3 werden in einer LEAD User Konferenz anhand von unterschiedlichen Kreativitätstechniken Produkte mit minimalen Funktionen, sogenannte „Minimal Viable Products“, entwickelt und Business Models dazu erarbeitet. Das Ergebnis sind „Pretotypes“, die in der nächsten Phase direkt im Markt getestet werden können.

Schritt 4: Testen

Die Pretotypes werden hier mit Real Market Tests geprüft und ausgewertet. Wie auch bereits bei der Weiterentwicklung der Minimal Viable Products wird das Feedback von potentiellen Kunden solange in die Pretotypes eingearbeitet, bis das Produkt vom Markt angenommen wird. Das Ergebnis der 4. Phase ist mindestens ein positiv am Markt getesteter Pretotype inklusive Business Model und Vision.

Vereinbaren Sie einen Termin für ein Informationsgespräch.

jetzt kontaktieren
New Business Development

New Business Development

Mit New Business Development können Sie heute auf eine wichtige organisationale Kompetenzen bauen, um Wettbewerbsvorteile nachhaltig zu generieren und am Markt langfristig erfolgreich zu sein.

New Business Development

Mit New Business Development können Sie heute auf eine wichtige organisationale Kompetenzen bauen, um Wettbewerbsvorteile nachhaltig zu generieren und am Markt langfristig erfolgreich zu sein.

New Business Development

Mit New Business Development können Sie heute auf eine wichtige organisationale Kompetenzen bauen, um Wettbewerbsvorteile nachhaltig zu generieren und am Markt langfristig erfolgreich zu sein.

Mocap smarthphone image
Zum Innovationscheck
LEAD Innovation

Sie möchten wissen, in welchem Reifestadium sich Ihr Innovationsmanagement befindet und analysieren, was die nächsten Schritte sein können?

Machen Sie den LEAD Innovations-Check!

Im 30 minütigen Innovations-Check bewerten 6 Themenbereiche des Innovationsmanagements.

zum Innovations-Check